LPC at the 2013 Ohio Pen Show

The 19th annual Ohio Pen Show was held at the Crowne Plaza Dublin Hotel in Columbus, Ohio over 4 days, from November 8 – 11, 2013.  The first day was open to exhibitors and weekend registrants only while the remaining three were open to the public.  Three members of our club hopped in a van and headed off to the show – two of whom had been before and one rookie.  We departed from London early in the morning of November 8 and stopped for breakfast shortly after crossing the Ambassador Bridge into Detroit.  This meant that we arrived at the hotel in Dublin around mid-day – just in time for us to take full advantage of our weekend passes!

Terry Mawhorter, the show organizer

Terry Mawhorter, the show organizer

The exhibitor list was a veritable who’s who of the pen world !  And while it may not be the size of the Washington Supershow, the Ohio Show is large by any standards with the dealers filling up the hotel’s grand ballroom, two large meeting rooms that were adjacent to the ballroom and the hallways just outside these rooms.

Pendemonium - a show favourite!

Pendemonium – a show favourite!

Frank and Sam  of Pendemonium - two of the nicest people you will ever meet!

Frank and Sam Fiorella of Pendemonium – two of the nicest people you will ever meet!

For me, the first-timer at the Ohio Show, I certainly enjoyed having the chance to see so many pens and all that goes with them; however, the best part was having the opportunity to meet people that I have dealt with by email and being introduced to so many others that my cohorts knew.  The atmosphere was informal and there was time to socialize or talk pens and take advantage of the vast knowledge and experience of the dealers (especially on Thursday and Friday).  I left the show with 2 pens – an Aurora Optima in green auroloide with a medium italic nib, a Big Red with  an unbelievable stub nib (~1 mm), 3 bottles of ink – Sailor Epinarde (green to go with the Optima), Franklin-Christoph Blue 72 and Organics Studio First Edition Manganese, 1 pen resurrected from the dead – a Conway Stewart 770  with a crack near the lever box(a shout out to Sherrell Tyree on the ink-pen.com for performing this miracle – I have sent notice to the Vatican that Sherrell should be considered for sainthood!) , 3 or 4 nibs ground to my liking, some paper and the biggest smile on my face since I was a kid that I will remember for some time.

Lisa and Brian Anderson of AndersonPens.net

Lisa and Brian Anderson of AndersonPens.net

Some of the neat stuff that AndersonPens.net display - goodies for everyone!

Some of the neat stuff that AndersonPens.net display – goodies for everyone!

Richard Binder, of course!

Richard Binder, of course!

Jim Rouse of Franklin Christoph and their display

Jim Rouse of Franklin-Christoph and their display

At the show, I spent a fair amount of time at the Franklin-Christoph table talking to Jim and looking at their pens and other pen stuff on offer.  I was so impressed by the quality and the writing experience of these pens that I almost bought one.  I held off because I had already purchased two other pens.  After the show, I could not stop thinking about a prototype Model 19 – “1901” with dark green bands that I had fallen for.  A week or so after the show, I gave in and ordered the pen (fortunately it was still available); however, my wife intercepted its delivery and wrapped it up as one of my Christmas gifts – making me wait even longer!!

IMG_4206

The Weakleys

The Weakleys

Andreas Lambrou with his newly released Fountain Pens of Japan

Andreas Lambrou with his newly released Fountain Pens of Japan

Jimmy Dolive

Jimmy Dolive

Paul Conterata

Paul Conterata

Dr. Laurence Oldfield of the penpractice.com with some incredible tools and the now released 3rd edition of Pen Repair (co-authored with Jim Marshall)

Dr. Laurence Oldfield of the penpractice.com with some incredible tools and the now released 3rd edition of Pen Repair (co-authored with Jim Marshall)

IMG_4174 - Copy

Mike Conway

Mike Conway

Dan Reppert

Dan Reppert

LPC member Doug and Roger Cromwell of Penopoly

LPC member Doug and Roger Cromwell of Penopoly

LPC member Mike having some nibwork done by Linda Kennedy of Indy-Pen-Dance (Shhh - don't tell anyone but Linda is terrific!!)

LPC member Mike having some nibwork done by Linda Kennedy of Indy-Pen-Dance (Shhh – don’t tell anyone but Linda is terrific!!)

And finally a few random pictures taken at various times …

IMG_4222

IMG_4227

IMG_4237

IMG_4172

IMG_4176

5 Comments

Filed under London Pen Club

5 responses to “LPC at the 2013 Ohio Pen Show

  1. Rick from London

    Great write up, makes me wish I had gone to the show. Ah well, there’s alway 2014.

  2. If I ever retire I also will not miss the next show in Ohio, the pictures make me wish I were there.

    • John
      The pictures only tell part of the story. I hope that you are able to make it next year – I am certain you would have such a terrific time reconnecting with people that you have not seen or talked with in a few years. As I told Rick, plan to go so that you can start squirrelling away money to pay for the hotel and anything else that you will be looking for.

      MikeW

  3. Maja

    I’ve always said that half the fun of attending a show is meeting and talking to pen people. Thanks for a great write-up, Mike. I’m so glad you acquired so many great pens! You will have to post a photo of your finds in a future blog :)

Leave a Reply

