De Atramentis Dark Blue Ink

A fellow LPC member was kind enough to pick up a bottle of De Atramentis Dark Blue ink from Laywine’s in Toronto.  The ink is also known by the not very PC name of “Business Ink for Successful Men”.  I certainly agree that it would make a nice business ink but I expect it could be used just as well, if not better, by the fairer sex.

A very nice ink with a blue-black look to it, no hint of purple as you may find in a number of blue inks.  Fwiw, I have seen some comments that it is similar to Dupont Blue-Black.

Sept. 13 update – When I posted this on the Fountain Pen Network and mentioned how difficult I found the De Atramentis website to navigate, in terms of finding the inks suitable for fountain pens and the colours that interest me, I was directed to this tremendously useful color card that lists the inks by colour and both their German and English names.  Beware though, it is not in numerical order as their newer colours appear to have been added at the end, e.g. #47 Taubenblau/Colombin.

One thought on “De Atramentis Dark Blue Ink

  1. Great review! I love Dark Blue and it’s one of my favourite DeArtamentis ink colours. To me it’s more of a traditional blue black than other brands that lean towards green (not that is a bad thing).

    Bill

Leave a Reply

