Blue inks from Toronto Pen Show plus

So our club took to the road last Saturday for the Toronto Pen Show.  The show was well attended by both dealers and people like us.  Of course, the show is small by U.S. standards but size isn’t everything – quality counts for something!

Here is a scan of the inks that I purchased from Sleuth & Statesman at the TPS plus a writing sample of Sailor Chushu ink that came with my new Sailor Realo fountain pen (this ink was distributed with the first 500 Realos sold – lucky me!).  The paper is 80 g Rhodia graph paper.

By the way, I had writing sample ready to be scanned this morning, however, as I was a bit rushed to get to the London Pen Club meeting at 9:30 am, I decided to wait and scan it when I returned home.  I passed the scan around the meeting table for everyone to look at (fwiw, Noodler’s Polar Blue was the consenus favourite).  One vintage collector was looking at the writing sample, put it down and then started playing with my Sailor Realo, not realizing that it is a piston-filler. That’s the problem with these vintage people, they think every pen has a lever!  Anyway, he (who shall remain unidentifed except to those present) is the person responsible for the blob of Chushu in the last sample.

toronto pen show inks plus

2 thoughts on “Blue inks from Toronto Pen Show plus

  1. Hi. My husband and I have found a clear glass baby food size jar while digging out the clay of our garage floor. It has the name Scheaffer’s and pat’d number 1759866 with the number 3 encircled on the bottom along with the word skrip in cursive. it is a very unique bottle to me. Could you possibly give me some history on it and how old it may be? our garage is very old. the side of the little jar with the built in partition of glass also has printed on it “this side down to fill pocket”. thanks

Leave a Reply

