A surprising tale of 3 notebooks – Moleskine, Habana and Rhodia

By LPC member David

After hearing so many bad things about Moleskine notebooks (re fountain pens) and so many good things about Quo Vadis Habana and Rhodia notebooks, I decided to buy one of each and see how they performed.

I bought the following notebooks:

  • Moleskine Reporter 9 x 14 cm
  • Quo Vadis Habana 10 x 15 cm
  • Rhodia Webnotebook 9.5 x 14 cm

I carried out a very unscientific test using the 4 pens that happened to be inked and on my desk:

  • Pelikan brown in a Lamy Vista (1.1 nib)
  • Sailor red-brown in a Sailor Pro Gear (M nib)
  • Sailor evergreen in an Aurora 88 (stub nib)
  • Montblanc violet in a vintage Aurora 88 (flexible M nib)

The following images show the results. I was surprised at how the Rhodia and Habana notebooks performed relative to the Moleskine. There seems, to me at least, that there is less feathering and less bleed-through with the Moleskine……

6 thoughts on “A surprising tale of 3 notebooks – Moleskine, Habana and Rhodia

  1. That is surprising. I have only used Moleskines so far and have had tons of feathering, bleeding and showthrough. I have just recently acquired a Webbie and a Quo Vadis notebook, both of which are performing better but who knows I am still just breaking these in. Interesting non the less.

Leave a Reply

